Ferrand Pomerol

Château Ferrand, Haut Ferrand & Fleur Ferrand

The Gasparoux family’s history in Bordeaux started in 1902 when Jean-Baptiste escaped the hardships of life on the beautiful but impoverished Plateau de Millevaches in Corrèze to establish himself as a merchant in the town of Libourne.

In 1934, his son Fernand, after also working as a merchant, decided to fulfil his dream of being a wine grower and purchased Château Ferrand. Over the years, he went on to increase the size of the estate as well as improve the quality of the wine produced. In 1975, he continued to expand his vineyard buying several hectares of land on the Pomerol plateau. The result of this was Château Haut Ferrand, a wine that is both delicate and well structured.

In 1981, Fernand’s son Henry took over the family story. In 2009, with the able assistance of his sons, he decided to diversify the range and developed the Fleur Ferrand vintage. This outstanding vintage perfectly encapsulated the magnificent Pomerol terroir.

Pomerol

Referred to as the archetypical Bordeaux appellation, Pomerol is one of the most highly regarded – even legendary, in some eyes – appellation in the region. 

Originally, white grapes were planted in the vineyards. However, following a bout of phylloxera at the end of the 19th century and the subsequent vine devastation, wine growers chose to replant with red varieties that were more suited to the terroir

An appellation that denotes hundreds of years of wine-growing history, it produces elegant, vivid wines with great balance. Their outstanding structure as well-ageing fine wines mean they can be enjoyed as much while young as after decades in a cellar.

This Bordeaux appellation is slightly smaller so its wines are often in limited batches and are recognised as the best in the world.

Wine Tourism

SEMINARS

Ferrand Pomerol

WINE TASTING VISITS

Pomerol wine, one of the best red wines…

GIFT SETS

SECURED PAYMENT

SHIPPING

Ferrand Pomerol

Château Ferrand, Haut Ferrand & Fleur Ferrand

L’histoire de la famille Gasparoux dans le Bordelais débuta en 1902, lorsque Jean-Baptiste s’implanta à Libourne en tant que négociant, afin d’échapper à la dureté de la vie sur le beau mais pauvre Plateau de Millevaches, en Corrèze.

En 1934, son fils Fernand, après avoir été négociant comme son père, décida de réaliser son rêve et acquit le Château Ferrand. Au fil des années, il va développer la propriété en superficie et améliorer la qualité du vin produit. En 1975, il continua l’expansion de son vignoble en achetant quelques hectares sur le plateau de Pomerol. C’est ainsi que fut créé le Château Haut Ferrand, vin plein de gourmandise et doté d’une très belle structure.

En 1981, Henry, le fils de Fernand, reprit la suite de l’histoire familiale. Avec la complicité de ses fils, il décida en 2009 de diversifier la gamme, et créa la cuvée La Fleur Ferrand. Cuvée d’exception, elle exprime parfaitement le magnifique terroir de Pomerol.

Pomerol

Qualifiée de « la plus bourguignonne des appellations à Bordeaux », Pomerol est l’une des appellations les plus réputées dans la région, presque mythique aux yeux de certains. 

A l’origine, les vignes étaient plantées avec des raisins blancs. Ce n’est qu’après l’attaque du phylloxéra, à la fin du XIXème siècle, et la dévastation des vignes, que les vignerons décidèrent de planter des cépages rouges, mieux adaptés au terroir. 

Appellation forte de centaines d’années d’histoire viticole, elle produit des vins racés, expressifs et présentant un très bel équilibre. Leur structure exceptionnelle en fait de grands vins de garde, qui peuvent s’apprécier tout autant sur leur jeunesse qu’après des dizaines d’années en cave.

Plus petite appellation de Bordeaux, ses vins sont souvent qualifiés de « confidentiels » et reconnus comme les meilleurs vins du monde.

œnotourisme

SÉMINAIRES

Ferrand Pomerol

VISITE AVEC DÉGUSTATION

Le vin de Pomerol, l’un des meilleurs vins rouges …

COFFRETS CADEAUX

PAIEMENT SÉCURISE

LIVRAISON